Sunday, November 21, 2010

The Union Jack is the British flag of the United Kingdom.

The story of the United Kingdom
and the Union Flag.
A flag containing three other flags.
Union Flag
The Union Flag - the flag of the United Kingdom (UK)
The Union Flag, popularly known as the *Union Jack, is the national flag of the United Kingdom. It is the British flag.
It is called the Union Flag because it symbolises the administrative union of the countries of the United KingdomIt is made up up of the individual Flags of three of the Kingdom's countries all united under one Sovereign - the countries of 'England, of 'Scotland' and of 'Northern Ireland' (since 1921 only Northern Ireland has been part of the United Kingdom). As Wales was not a Kingdom but a Principality it could not be included on the flag.
The following pages will tell you how the Union Flag (Union Jack) came to be the UK's national flag and the making of the United Kingdom.

No comments:

Post a Comment